Weekly update: How to lose friends and alienate people

So, this week was kinda busy, as seen in the pictures of my game last Tuesday.

After that, I had some time for another couple of games of Warmachine on Friday, using a 50 points version of my eCaine list, which I might post later on if the fancy tickles me. I am still amazed about how simple the rules are and how complex the game is. I managed to pull a very narrow win in the first game, getting mauled a bit by an extremely long range move by a Trollbloods unit (I shot one, which let the unit move 3″, then they got +2 Speed by their own once per game ability, then another +2 by a spell and all of a sudden, they could charge 13 plus 2″ reach or run 20″ and then threaten everyone in 2″) and thus already on the back foot at the end of turn 1 when I realized that I should be just in range for an assassination run, provided I could charge someone to gain +3 move. There was no enemy model in a valid position to enable me to pull that off, but then I realized that Warmachine lets you charge your own guys, so I put a Ranger in a position where Caine could charge him for a 10″ move, then before striking him (which would prevent Caine from doing any ranged attacks for the rest of the turn) Caine used Gatecrasher to land in a spot he barely fit in that was within 0.5″ of the enemy warcaster and then let rip with his feat. I rolled below average again for damage and thus needed all 6 shots I had to put him down.

In the second game, Caine got shot, or rather the Troll who stood in front of him got shot and then Caine took some collateral damage (Magic Bullet) before being hit on an 11+ on 3d6 for the Caster kill. I felt quite well in that game, as I had taken out the enemy heavy Warbeast with Caine’s shooting, dropped the enemy War Engine by remembering that Ol Rowdy could countercharge it when it moved to shoot Caine (upsetting Chris as he had lost another important model to countercharge the turn before) and managed to drop the majority of the infantry without losing too many of my own guys. Unfortunately, I rolled really low again for Caine’s damage and as a result had to dedicate all of my Focus to drop the Troll Bomber Warbeast and thus could not Gatecrash out of range after shooting. I had to drop the Bomber though, as it could have otherwise killed Caine with its Blast attacks. It turned out that Caine was exactly in 12″ of the enemy Warlock to let him shoot his pistol at him. If I had dropped the Troll earlier or stood half an inch further back, it would have been my game I think as I had the Tempest Blazers in position to shoot down one of the light Troll Warbeast flanking the Warlock (and transfer damage to the Warlock with Electro Leap), then let Ol ´Rowdy either charge the Troll to take him out or, if the Troll was down, go straight for the Warlock. Meanwhile, Caine could have dropped the remaining 4 Troll infantrymen or just unloaded everything into the Warlock.

Oh well, it was a tight game and I can see some progress in how far I perceive all the various options I have each turn. In fact, I think that WarmaHordes really lives from the fact that there are always multiple options, the obvious ones and the not so obvious ones and that seeing all those options is still far beyond me, but I believe I get a grasp of some of the less obvious ones as I go along.

 

After my adventures in WarmaHordes land, I had a mini 40k tournament with my 700 points Daemon army. To make a long story short, I played two games where I had a bad matchup in Tau with their high volume of S5+ shots and both opponents going first as well, but I nevertheless pulled off a convincing win and a tabling in those two games. The third games was against Tyranids, where I decided to become the aggressor and charged straight at them, summoning Khorne Daemons to tackle enemy Tyranid Warriors and Daemonettes to deal with a Carnifex. In the end, the Bloodletters and Horrors killed off 2 units of 15 Termagants as well as a 4-strong unit of Warriors, whilst the Daemonettes took 4 rounds to deal 3 Rending wounds to the Carnifex and put it down. He ended up with a grounded Tyrant on 1 wound in combat with a Lord of Change who benefitted from Cursed Earth to gain a 4++ rerolling 1s. This cost me 4 VPs as you gained 1 for each dead HQ, one per objective (3 per table, 1 deployed centrally, 1 in each deployment zone) and 3 for tabling an opponent. Yes, this was quite challenging for the Daemons, as they brought 4 extremely fragile HQ choices (and thus 4 easy VPs) and had to sacrifice some of them if they wanted to possess a Greater Daemon, except for game 3 where a unit of horrors rolled that power, cast it successfully and then got recast onto the field immediately by a nearby Herald. So at the end of the day, I went 3-0 in games and 15-4 in points, only 1 of which was actually earned by the opponent, the others due to sacrificing Heralds or losing them to the Warpstorm table.

On average, I dropped about 800 points of extra Daemons on the field each game and that made it pretty impossible to deal with the force in a meaningful way. In game 1, the Tau dropped 2 full units of Bloodletters one after the other, just to be overrun by the Horrors that they couldn’t deal with as the Bloodletters distracted them. In game 2, the Nids wiped out a full unit of Bloodcrushers and 8 Plaguebearers in one shooting phase, only for the last two to tie up the Termagants until the Horrors got there to murder them whilst a unit of Daemonettes encircled the Carnifex that had to move to the table edge to charge the last Bloodcrusher. In game 3, I ended up with a unit of Horrors with 5 Heralds in it that generated 3+3+2+2+2+1= 13 Warp Charge on its own. I feel that once you have weathered the first two turns and acquired a criticial mass of Heralds and Horrors, there are very few forces that can take you out. Of course, it is true that 700 points are not the usual size of game and in bigger games, there might be more heavy guns that can deal with them, but so far it seems like the strongest force in 7th edition. There might also be a financial factor to be considered, as not everyone has 80+ spare Daemons lying around. In my opinion, that is the best way to stop people from playing that force, insisting on WYSIWYG or no proxies to keep the sillyness in check.

 

Right, that’s it for this week and remember: Guns don’t kill people, rappers do.

 

Standard

One thought on “Weekly update: How to lose friends and alienate people

  1. Ouh yeah, beware of Vengeance!
    When I cheekly positioned a single Fennblade in front of your Tempest Blazers, it was to trigger Vengeance (next to the 3″ advance every model would get a single melee attack, which wasn’t happening due to lack of opponent models in melee range). Against more seasoned players I’d position two, ultimately three of the Fennblades close to the enemy line. With Vengeance (+Quicken, +Mini Feat) they have a thread range of 25″, outclassing every light cavalry and forcing several models/units to make a discipline check. It’s just awesome. If I wouldn’t have played Champions with Skaldi, there would be a Fell Caller Hero hanging around with the Fennblades to grant them +2 on melee attack rolls, giving the Fennblades effective MAT8 and the killing goes easier.
    In both of our games I missed to cycle Quicken from Fennblades to Champions, which made the Champions slow. Having them not in melee is a point waster. Those 13 points I should have spent otherwise, like full Kriel Warriors (12 model unit for 8 points) or additional support solos. Trollbloods is a toolbox faction where only a few beasts/units/solos shine on their own, but with a umpteen options of putting out different buffs effecting multiple models at the same time, there’s where Trollbloods really stand out.

    Anyway: your list was fun, hard and fast. That’s a good thing. A more seasoned player would leave 2 or even 3 fury on his warlock for damage transfer or would n*e*v*e*r leave an opening for Caine2 to gatecrash in. Walls and medium base models do the trick, I missed that.

    Your gunline covers all aspects of playing: assassination, attrition, and board controll, but the third one at the least. However, you miss some heavy punch (except for Ol’ Rowdy and Caine2 on Feat Turn). The Tempest Blazer’s POW10+3d6 do not kill heavy jacks/beasts, Gun Mages need a critical hit which does not happen often on 2d6 and still they wouldn’t kill heavy jacks/bests on their own. The Rangers help, but need to be very close to opponent models and maynot survive very long. IMHO if the Gun Mages go jackmarshal the Defender (wasn’t it RNG16 POW15?) with boosted damage rolls or have one or two small jacks with the Armour Piercing POW9 cannon, this could really help you out.
    Di la Rovissi’s special shot to make models “invisible” is really good. For your gunline lists this proves optimal LOS-options without putting much thought in moving around awkward angles. She just fits very neadly in your list.
    The worst thing you did all the time was the average dice roll of 5 on 2d6. Why do the dice hate you so much? All your models have pretty good MAT or RAT and do not really need buffs on them. But when I see your rolls… 😉

    And, of course: both games were fun. The first maybe too short of fun on my behalf due to lack of a third round, but that’s okay. And at least you didn’t field Haley2 (Godmother of Nightmares). Me does want more games 🙂

Leave a Reply

